S01E03 - Evans Scholarship 2021 Recipients

Congratulations to Michael Fluhr and Nick Xanthacos who have been awarded Evans Scholarships.

The Evans Scholarship is a full tuition and housing college scholarship for high-achieving caddies. To qualify, caddies must meet the requirements of having a strong caddie record, excellent academics, demonstrated financial need, and outstanding character.

Scholarship applications are accepted at the beginning of an applicant’s senior year of high school. 

In 1930, the Western Golf Association and celebrated amateur golfer Charles “Chick” Evans Jr. established the Evans Scholars Foundation. The Foundation’s mission was to provide full tuition and college scholarships to caddies with limited financial means.

The first two Evans Scholars enrolled at Northwestern University in 1930, and since then, 11,323 outstanding young men and women have graduated as Evans Scholars. This year, there are 1,045 Evans Scholars enrolled at 19 leading universities nationwide.

This year St. Rose High School is proud to announce that Michael Fluhr ’21 and Nick Xanthacos ’21 were named as Evans Scholars. Both young men will be attending Ohio State University. Nick and Michael follow other St. Rose High School Evans Scholars: Nolan Boehmcke ’20, Sean Donohue ’20 and Samantha Boehmcke ’17.

St. Rose High School is proud of the hard work and outstanding character shown by these young people.